# Chief Minister Ministerial Decision Report

# RE-APPOINTMENT TO THE JERSEY TEACHERS SUPERANNUATION FUNDS (JTSF) MANAGEMENT BOARD.

# 1. Purpose of the Report

1.1. To re-appoint 2 members to the JTSF Management Board.

### 2. Background

- 2.1. Article 3 of the Teachers' Superannuation (Administration) (Jersey) Order 2007 allows for the Chief Minister to appoint to be members of the Management Board:
- 2.2. The membership of the JTSF Management Board consists of 12 members.
- 2.3. 6 members of the Management Board are employer representatives, of whom -
  - 2 shall be persons recommended by the Minister for Treasury and Resources;
  - 2 shall be persons recommended by the Minister for Education;
  - 2 shall be any persons that the Chief Minister thinks fit; and
- 2.4. 6 members of the Management Board are selected in the manner that the Chief Minister shall agree with the associations that appear to the Minister for Education to represent the interests of teachers.
- 2.5. Under Article 3(2) of the Teachers' Superannuation (Administration) (Jersey) Order 2007, members of the Management Board shall hold office for 3 years and shall be eligible for re-appointment. Article 3(4) of the same Order allows the Chief Minister to remove from office any member of the Management Board, at any time, appointed by him or her.

#### 3. Reappointment

- 3.1. Michael de la Haye and Timothy Balston have expressed a willingness to continue in their honorary roles and it is recommended that they are reappointed to maintain continuity.
- 3.2. Both members were previously selected through a formal recruitment process under the Appointment Commission Guidelines and are eligible for re-appointment.

#### 4. Recommendation

4.1. For the Chief Minister to agree to re-appoint of the 2 nominees to the JTSF Management Board for a term of office of 3 years.

### APPENDIX A

#### BIOGRAPHIES

#### MR MICHAEL DE LA HAYE OBE

Michael de la Haye was educated in Jersey and at the University of Nottingham and worked in Tunisia and France before returning to Jersey in 1986 to work at the Immigration and Nationality Department. He moved to the Law Officers' Department in 1994 as Chief Clerk and then transferred to the States Greffe in 1999. He was appointed as Deputy Greffier of the States in 2000 and Greffier of the States in 2002, a post he held for 13 years until December 2015.

After leaving office as Greffier he was a Commissioner of the Jersey Financial Services Commission for 3 years.

From 2019 to 2021 Mr de la Haye chaired the Housing Policy Development Board established by the Chief Minister and he is currently a member of the Strategic Housing Partnership and a member of the Steering Group for the Housing and Homelessness Project.

He is a Lay member of the Employment and Discrimination Tribunal and a Trustee of the Les Vaux Housing Trust. In 2020 he was appointed as a member of the Independent Panel overseeing the work of the Citizens' Jury on Assisted Dying. Since January 2019 he has been a Pensioner Representative on the Committee of Management of the Public Employees Pension Fund and he chairs the Audit sub-committee. Mr de la Haye is an Associate of the Chartered Governance Institute and he was awarded an OBE in June 2014 for services to the States Assembly and the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

#### MR TIMOTHY BALSTON

Mr Balston returned to Jersey after teaching successfully in the London Borough of Waltham Forest for twelve years, securing a post at Le Rocquier School. He completed twenty six years' service in 2015.

Throughout his career he has been a member of the National Union for Teachers. His past roles in the union have included being a school representative, the President and Secretary of the Jersey Association of Teachers (NUT). He is currently acting as Secretary of the National Educational Union, Jersey District and heavily engaged in current union affairs negotiating on behalf of school members.

At present he is also Secretary, Trustee and an active listener for the Jersey Branch of The Samaritans. Having put three children through university, he feels his prudent approach will be helpful as a member of the JTSF.

## JTSF MANAGEMENT BOARD

Name	Proposing Minister/ Association	Commencement date on Board	Length on terms	Commencement date of current term	Current Term ceases
Employer Nominees					
Professor Ed Sallis OBE	Chief Minister	01/01/2023	3 years	01/01/2023	31/12/2025
David Postlethwaite	Chief Minister	01/01/2023	3 years	01/01/2023	31/12/2025
Gerald White (retiring at end of 2024)	Treasury Minister	21/02/2016	3 years	01/01/2022	31/12/2024
Adrian Galvin	Treasury Minister	20/09/2024	3 years	20/09/2024	19/09/2027
Michael De La Haye OBE	Education Minister	01/01/2022	3 years	01/01/2022	31/12/2024
John Everett (retiring at end of 2024)	Education Minister	01/05/2018	3 years	01/01/2022	31/12/2024
Employee Nominees					
Russell Price	NAHT	01/01/2024	3 years	01/01/2024	31/12/2026
John Baudains	NAHT	12/07/2023	3 years	12/07/2023	11/07/2026
Lynne Magowan	NEU	01/01/2024	3 years	01/01/2024	31/12/2026
James Bennett	NASUWT	04/07/2024	3 years	04/07/2024	03/07/2027
Mick Jones	NASUWT	01/01/2024	3 years	01/01/2024	31/12/2026
Timothy Balston	NEU	01/01/2019	3 years	01/01/2022	31/12/2024